Our News

August 3, 2017 Theriault leads tight Short Track championship battle to Winchester

The race to be ARCA's Sioux Chief Short Track Challenge champion couldn't get much better; but we still think it just might when the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards heads to historic Winchester Speedway for this weekend's Winchester ARCA 200.

Currently, national championship leader Austin Theriault leads Dalton Sargeant in Short Track points by a slim 15 markers -- 1515 to 1500. Theriault also leads Sargeant in national championship standings, but that margin is shrinking too with Sargeant winning two of the last three races.

Christian Eckes is also still in the Short Track title fight, 125 points out of the lead. Zane Smith and Riley Herbst are fourth and fifth, and still very much alive.

The remaining short track events this year include Winchester Speedway (Aug. 6), Illinois State Fairgrounds mile dirt (Aug. 20), DuQuoin State Fairgrounds mile dirt (Sept. 4) and Salem Speedway (Sept. 9).

Ironically, neither Theriault nor Sargeant has ever competed on a dirt track.

Theriault's Ken Schrader Racing 52 team also leads in General Tire Superspeedway Challenge standings, but that margin is also shrinking, compliments of the Joe Gibbs Racing 18 car with Riley Herbst in the saddle. Herbst, after finishing second at Pocono Raceway last time out, trails Theriault by 110 points in General Tire Superspeedway Challenge standings. The next superspeedway race on the schedule is the SCOTT 150 at Chicagoland Speedway Sept. 14.

Theriault also leads the S&S Volvo Laps Completed category with 1795 laps total, finishing on the lead lap everywhere this year with Salem Speedway being the lone exception. His crew chief Donnie Richeson leads in the Cometic Crew Chief of the Year category. Kevin Reed picked up the Cometic Crew Chief of the Race honors at Pocono with Justin Haley's victory in the No. 78 Mason Mitchell Motorsports Chevrolet.

Back To Top More News


Daigle Oil Company
Bangor Savings Bank
Austin Theriault Racing
Cross Insurance
Everett J. Prescott, inc. (Team EJP)
Voisine Technology Services
Rick Ware Racing
Travis Mills Foundation