Our News

August 22, 2017 Bill France 4 Crown to be decided at Road America; Theriault leads

If Austin Theriault was an unlikely candidate going in, he may be a shoe-in now for the 2017 Bill France 4 Crown championship, all things considered. That is if he can get through the final round coming this Sunday at Road America.

The Road America 100 will not only be a key component in the overall ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards national championship chase, it'll also determine the 2017 Bill France 4 Crown champion.

A championship within a championship, the Bill France 4 Crown provides a link to the series’ roots by featuring a diverse combination of tracks in any given season. This year's Bill France championship includes the Nashville Fairgrounds paved short-track, the Pocono Raceway triangular superspeedway, the Illinois State Fairgrounds mile dirt and the Road America road course.

Theriault, in his first dirt track start last Sunday on the Springfield Mile Dirt, finished second to race winner Grant Enfinger. Theriault doesn't have a lot of road course experience either, but a lack of experience didn't hurt him a bit at Springfield.

"I had a lot of fun at Springfield," said Theriault. "Some of the most fun I've ever had in a race car to be honest. Hopefully, we'll have another solid run this weekend. I don't have a lot of road course experience, but I've got something better…I've got a great team with Ken Schrader Racing.

"The Bill France 4 Crown is all about the diversity of this series and this team continues to show just how diverse it is. Hopefully, we can have another solid run this weekend. I really thought the dirt track might throw us for a loop, but the team showed its diversity and its ability to stand up to all the challenges this series continually throws at you. Now we have the only road course of the season coming at us this weekend. Normally, I might be a little concerned. but based on what this team continues to accomplish, I'm not worried.

"Obviously, the big-picture goal is the championship, but what an honor it would be to win the Bill France 4 Crown."

In 16 career starts, Theriault has never finished outside the top-10. The Fort Kent, Maine driver currently leads Sheldon Creed by just 15 points in the Bill France 4 Crown; however, Creed is not expected to compete at Road America. Joe Gibbs Racing's Riley Herbst is third in France 4 Crown points, 35 away from the leader.

“The Bill France Four Crown Award speaks to the very nature of the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards,” said ARCA President Ron Drager. “Considering our diverse schedule of superspeedways, short tracks, dirt ovals, and a road course, this award captures what our series is about.

”It also allows us to recognize our long standing respect and appreciation for the great leadership and professionalism Bill France Sr. contributed to ARCA, beginning in our formative years in the 1950s and continuing for decades.”

Davey Allison won the first Bill France 4 Crown championship in his rookie season in 1984. Ten-time ARCA Racing Series champion Frank Kimmel is the all-time Bill France 4 Crown champion with seven titles (2013, 2008, 2007, 2005, 2002, 2001, 1998).

Bill France 4 Crown points are distributed based on race finishing positions only.


ARCA Bill France 4 Crown Award Champions:

1984 – Davey Allison
1985 – Lee Raymond
1986 – Lee Raymond
1987 – Grant Adcox
1988 – Grant Adcox
1989 – Tracy Leslie
1990 – Bob Keselowski
1991 – Bobby Bowsher/Bill Venturini (Tie)
1992 – Bobby Bowsher
1993 – Bob Keselowski
1994 – Bob Hill
1995 – Harris DeVane
1996 – Tim Steele
1997 – Tim Steele
1998 – Frank Kimmel
1999 – Bill Baird
2000 – Tim Steele
2001 – Frank Kimmel
2002 – Frank Kimmel
2003 – Jason Jarrett
2004 – Brent Sherman
2005 – Frank Kimmel
2006 – Blake Bjorklund
2007 – Frank Kimmel
2008 – Frank Kimmel
2009 – Parker Kligerman
2010 – Joey Coulter
2011 – Chad McCumbee
2012 – Chris Buescher
2013 – Frank Kimmel
2014 – Grant Enfinger
2015 – Cunningham Motorsports (Kyle Weatherman/Blake Jones)
2016 -- Chase Briscoe

Back To Top More News


Daigle Oil Company
Bangor Savings Bank
Austin Theriault Racing
Cross Insurance
Everett J. Prescott, inc. (Team EJP)
Voisine Technology Services
Rick Ware Racing
Travis Mills Foundation